Hindi News

Delhi-ncr: Draft Regional Plan-2041 Approved

The NCR Planning Board has approved the Draft Regional Plan-2041 for better connectivity between cities. The plan envisages high speed connectivity through air ambulance, helitaxi, road, rail and waterways in a futuristic, slum-free National Capital Region.

The draft plan lays emphasis on taking special measures to travel between major cities of NCR in 30 minutes by high speed rail and reach Delhi in 30 minutes from the nearest borders of NCR through mass transit rail system. An official statement said that this draft plan was approved in the meeting of the National Capital Region Planning Board (NCRPB) held on Tuesday. The meeting was presided over by the Union Minister for Urban Affairs and Housing Hardeep Singh Puri. The draft plan will be made public soon for public opinion.

The board has made some changes in this draft to be kept for public opinion. Its thinking is that after making necessary changes according to the opinion of the people under the prescribed process, the final form of the draft plan should be approved by the board by March 2022.

The meeting was attended by Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal, Delhi Urban Development Minister Satyendar Jain, Rajasthan Urban Development Minister Shanti Kumar Dhariwal, Uttar Pradesh Khadi, Village Industries and MSME Minister Siddharth Nath Singh besides several senior officials. The thrust of the Regional Plan-2041 is to transform the cities of NCR into smart connectivity area with bullet train, helitaxi service and smart roads and make the region economically prosperous and citizen centric. For this, transportation by air, road, rail and water will be upgraded across NCR.

Will reach between cities in 30 minutes by bullet train
It has been said in the draft that it is important to reduce the travel time across the NCR and for this it has been decided that within 30 minutes from one city to another by high speed bullet train or helitaxi, within 60 minutes by other trains and two Can be reached by car within three hours. Delhi should be just 30 minutes away from the major cities of NCR by superfast train. The draft also plans to promote electric transport infrastructure. Apart from this, improving water and air quality, environment protection, urban reconstruction, easy living, slum free zone, 24 hour air ambulance, clean and smart NCR are some of the other big steps which will be emphasized in this scheme.

There are 25 districts of four states in the plan
NCRPB covers the whole of Delhi, eight districts of Uttar Pradesh, 14 districts of Haryana and two districts of Rajasthan. Overall, the board covers an area of ​​55,083 square kilometres. The board plans to connect this entire area with helitaxi so that tourism can be promoted. According to the draft, the service of helitaxi will be available at every district headquarters and tourist centers. It has been proposed in the plan that this area will be converted into a world class aviation hub and for this heliports and airports will be built in every district.

Two more expressways to be built
Apart from the Eastern and Western Peripheral Expressways, two more expressways have been planned in the new draft. First through circular expressway Panipat-Shamli-Meerut-Jewar-Nuh-Bhiwadi-Rewari-Jhajjar-Rohtak-Panipat and through second expressway Karnal-Muzaffarnagar-Garhmukteshwar-Naraura-Aligarh-Mathura-Deeg-Alwar-Mahendragarh Charkhi Dadri-Bhiwani-Kaithal-Karnal will be connected. The NCR plan estimates that the population of NCR may reach 7 crore by 2031 and 11 crore by 2041.

100 km limit for NCR
Under the Regional Plan-2041, now the boundary of the National Capital Region has been fixed up to 100 km from Rajghat in Delhi. That is, cities or villages falling within a radius of around 100 km from Rajghat will come under the purview of this scheme. Earlier this range was from 150 to 175 km. This means that now roads, rail or air network will be developed within a radius of 100 km. Board sources said that cities such as Gurugram, Faridabad, Noida, Greater Noida and Meerut will continue to be part of the NCR board.


Leave a Reply